3/26/12
Superman Returns!!!
Many speculate as to why Dwight wanted to leave in the first place. Orlando had been to The Finals and have done like the Cavs and Raptors and tried to build a team around him. However, the blunders of Otis Smith especially recently in acquiring Gilbert Arenas and bringing back Hedo Turkoglu. Many feel that Howard has not been thrilled with Otis Smith's performance and that is something he shares with Orlando fans actually. Some also wonder in Stan Van Gundy and his rather gruff approach was part of the reason as well. Howard in the past had even made comments about the fact Van Gundy was always so negative and he had encouraged him to be more positive with the team. Not sure how successful that has been. Dwight was complicating the issue by it seemed at times almost daily changing his mind on the topic of if he wanted to stay or go from Orlando. Howard genuinely seems to love the fans in Orlando but also seems utterly unimpressed with management. I would venture to say Dwight cares more for the people in Orlando than Bosh does for people here in Toronto or James does for the people in Cleveland. Dwight seemed to want a way to leave Orlando and still be the good and fun loving guy that people love. He had seen how Lebron James was turned from super hero to super villain. What Howard could seem to understand was you can not make everyone happy and still do what you want and feel what is right for you.
So, the Magic had option A to trade Howard or option B, which was to gamble like the Raptors and Cavs did and risk being left with nothing as the franchise was when Shaq left for L.A as a free agent. In the end the managed to come up with an option C that saw Howard forgo his opportunity to become a free agent this some and agree to accept his player option for next season. They basically have postponed what might in fact be the inevitability of Howard leaving for at least a year. It seems pretty clear the Magic are not going to come anywhere close to winning a championship this season. Chicago recently dismantled the Magic and not even Superman is enough to beat the Big 3 down south in Miami. The Magic are not going to get any closer to a championship this year. Which is what this is all about for Howard. You wonder how things might be different if the Magic were able to defeat the Lakers for the lone NBA Finals Dwight Howard has made.
Raptor fans tend to wallow about how superstars have left here. Some believing it is all about Canada and take it as personal insult. There is a lesson in all of this for the Raptor fans. Orlando does not have the weather issue of Toronto. It is often brought up about the high taxes here in Canada for players. Well Orlando last I checked is the state of Florida which has no tax on income just like the same advantage the Miami Heat enjoy. At the end of the day you can come up with a million excuses as to why people leave Toronto. Ultimately it is no different than why they would leave Orlando, Milwaukee, Sacramento, Minnesota and many other teams. It comes down to to fundamental things. The first is fairly obvious and that is winning and having a player buy into the belief he can win a Championship with that organization. The second is not as obvious but it is about power. Vince Carter left in part because he was unhappy with the choice of Rob Babcock as G.M of the Raptors. He had his own person in mind that being Dr.J. While Carter was clearly right about Babcock there is no evidence to suggest his choice was right either. No NBA team has hired the NBA Legend since. I am unaware if he has even interviewed for an open position since than. That is just one example of a player wanting to have power. Now players and agents would spin what I am calling power into the word input. Whatever you care to call it most players want it. Notice the topic of money never came up. The truth is after a certain point the superstars in this league have made more than enough money. Money is something the guys on the lower ends of the food chain to worry about.
It is important to understand that lots of markets have their problems. None that can't be over come by that magic tonic that is winning. There is no doubt the Raptors have some of the most unique problems of any franchise in some ways but it is not like other teams don't have their issues as well. That brings me to a topic from the game against the Bulls. Which was a fantastic basketball game. Still instead of focusing on the fact the better team won and it was a great effort, it was a lot of Raptor fans blaming the refs. It was those same Refs that kicked out one of the Bulls best players halfway through the game. It was those refs that gave the Raptors 4 free throws that they made one of at the end of OT. Every team from time to time feels they don't get a fair shake from the refs it is not unique to fans in just Toronto. Can we just once say are guys played good and the other guys played better and we lost a close one.
Also this has nothing to do with taking on the Magic but a good example of why tanking is a guarantee of nothing with what went on in Atlanta. Anthony Davis most people believe is the number one pick in the upcoming draft. He got injured in his teams battle with Baylor. It looked serious at first, but he would return and play in the game still flavoring the knee his injured. However, you are always within the blink of an eye of everything changing. So to waste an entire season all with the goal to land on specific player is always one serious injury away from getting nothing. It is also why I will always support any college player that wants to leave school as soon as possible. Kentucky was never going to give Anthony Davis millions of dollars he would get in the draft if he were to go down and lose his basketball career. It is not to say Kentucky doesn't have the millions to do it, that is just how the NCAA works. Charles Barkley once famously said that college football and basketball were the last forms of legalized for of slavery in America. While that does come off as outlandish it is not that far from the truth. Also the Magic are a classic example of why you can never truly have faith in the NBA Lottery. They won back to back lottery's and the second time they had a less than 2% chance of winning.
As for the game itself? It is the same old story. Find a way to stop Dwight and if you can do that you have to find a way to guard the perimeter on defense with all their shooters. The Raptors and Magic once had a rivalry primarily based on players leaving Toronto. First there was Tracy McGrady that went directly to Orlando and then there was Vince who went via New Jersey and was traded to Magic eventually. There is no longer that buzz anymore. Not even the friendship between Chris Bosh and Dwight Howard that produced some of both guys best games of their careers. Dwight is taking a longer path than Bosh did in leaving Toronto but if anyone thinks he is going to be in Orlando long term you are fooling yourself. Just like Dwight is if he thinks giving the Magic an extra year is going to make his exit out of town any easier next season. Ask people that still boo T-Mac and Vince about how it works when you leave town. Fans get emotionally invested in players and even if you hear it 10,000 times that sports is a business for fans it never is. It is almost always personal.
So I am off to Toronto to cover this game. I was convinced Dwight Howard would be gone but I would still get a chance to see Stan Van Gundy as he was going to still be around. As it turns out both will be. As for the Raptors it will be interesting to see if both DeRozan and Bayless are able to play. Calderon would love to see Bayless are being pushed to limit there last two games with huge minutes. While DeRozan had been playing some of his best basketball of this season in the last 4 games. So will talk with you tomorrow with thoughts on this one.
3/14/12
Eve Of Trade Deadline: Raps vs Nets
In terms of the game itself the Raptors will have a decent shot at winning two in a row with no Deron Williams to deal with. If the Nets are truly looking to make the big splash for Howard who knows who else may not be playing. It could be a very easy win for the Raptors depending on who actually shows up for the Nets.
The Raptors with the win last night exceeded their win total on the road for an entire season last year with only 6 wins. It seems the Raptors are on pace to win the 20 games we predicted in the Dino Nation Blog if not a few more. Andrea Bargnani has looked better and better with each game in his return to the line up which is a positive sign both short and long term.
Raptors will be off tomorrow and in Memphis on Friday. If you expect to see them look much different I would suggest not to hold your breath. Colangelo has shown some out of character patience in sticking to the plan. So it is unlikely he loses his senses at this point.
3/5/12
Superman Is Not Afraid Of Raptors.
Dwight Howard starts it off with a pretty move in the paint making Aaron Gray frozen or so it appeared. Ed Davis would score on a put back and Raps would get another basket, before a Nelson three pointer would make it 5-4. Raptors were doing a good job hanging around early and in fact nosed out to a 12-9 lead on an Ed Davis bucket taking it at Dwight Howard. Magic would tie it at 12 then the crowd would enjoy a pretty stupid pass by Hedo Turkoglu that would go out of bounds. Ball Control was a problem for the Magic and that is a good joke but it was also the truth with a lot of unforced turnovers. You got the feeling Dwight Howard could score as many as he wanted, but the Magic were more content to take shots. It was tied at 17 on James Johnson open 3. Big Baby with a nice big to bigger pass to Dwight Howard. Then we had a J.J three ball and the Magic were up 22-18. Magic would lead 23-20 after one and Superman had 10 points and 7 rebounds and I honestly think he could have had more than that if Magic wanted him too.
Magic got a basket from Ryan Anderson in the paint using some nice old school pump fakes. Raptors would respond with a break and a nice drop off from Calderon for DeRozan to get the easy lay-up. Magic were starting to assert themselves a little taking a 32-26 lead in the early going of the 2nd. Magic got it to an 8 point lead, but Demar DeRozan unafraid to take it to the paint made a couple nice baskets attacking the hoop making it 36-32. Howard got another easy score in the lane but Demar would get back in the paint too with a nice spin and score back to a 4 point point ball game. Raptors gave a good effort but were still as Jack Armstrong says, stuck five at halftime trailing 43-38.
Aaron Gray with a rare two for two effort at the line is what opens up the scoring in the 2nd half. Magic would get a couple baskets to answer that and it was 47-40 Magic. Raptors looked pretty disorganized on offense. Jose Calderon was 1-7 and you could add a turnover to that but the Magic would return the favour as they led 49-42. But the Raptors would get on a nice 6-0 run before a time out was called and it was a one point game. Raptors would take the lead on Barbosa three pointer to lead 51-49. Magic out a time out get an easy score and tie the game at 51. Dwight Howard soon after picks up his 3rd foul. It was a back and forth affair as Big Baby hits a jumper to give the Magic a 58-55 lead with just over 3 to play. Dwight Howard got the basket and made a free throw as he was fouled and the score grew to 61-55. A big dunk by Dwight Howard caused the crows to gasp and it was a sweet finish. Magic had been the dominant team all night when they wanted to be but still only had a 68-63 lead after 3.
Raptors were not going away and were in this game for one simple word and it is effort. They had it and the Magic only had it when they decided to have it. James Johnson swatted Big Baby and it lead to Jerryd Bayless being fouled in transition he made both and it was a one point game again. Ryan Anderson with a hugely needed three pointer for the Magic. Bayless with an ill advised chuck at three to answer. Anderson a basket and foul which he makes the and 1. Bayless decided to shoot another 3.....No what are you doing? I meant to say nice shot as he makes it. Raptors after falling behind seven get another basket and again were knocking on the door down just two.
Magic again decided to bring it and Dwight Howard made a great move that 3 years ago was not in his tool box in the paint. However Demar DeRozan who didn't have a 3 in his tool box does have one on occasion now and he used it to get the Raptors to within 2. Magic would push back to 5 up but a Bayless three would make it 80-78. But a silly foul by Jaamal Magloire and Magic got the lead back up to 83-78 with just over 4 to play. Magic started to pull away and had a 87-78 lead with 2:58 to play. But the Raptors would keep coming as they had all night long. DeRozan got a bucket to cut the lead to 4. Some questionable calls along the way were getting the fans and Jack Armstrong upset. But the foul on Calderon actually helped the Raptors as it turned out as Howard missed both at the line keeping the score at 87-83 Magic. Raptors had a chance at an easy hoop in the paint and could not make it and that would look to be costly with just a minute to play. Another foul on Calderon for getting run over by Dwight Howard and he again missed both but Magic got the rebound and still could not score. Bayless was fouled by Hedo and sent him to the line with 31.8 to play. He makes both and again it was a 2 point game. But a dagger 3 by J.J Redick would look to be the death blow giving the Magic a 5 point lead with 9.7 seconds to play. But Magic allow the Raptors to get an open Calderon three that he nail....Like Really? Magic now only up 2 again with 6.3 seconds left. J.J Redick gets fouled and that is last guy you want to foul with 95% on season but on the night was 2-4. Made both like he did back in the days at Duke and that would do it. Magic take it 92-88.
This is the part where you say the Raptors fought hard and deserved a better fate. But everyone else will do enough of that. I will say that it was a great effort but it was still a case of team that can not find a way to get over that hump in close games. I will also be the guy that will point out if you had Andrea Bargnani playing you might win some of these games. The fact he remains out with a calf injury seems odd even if it is the 2nd time he injured it. I hope it is because the Raptors are just trying to keep him out to play it safe in a season that doesn't mean much. If it is not that this really does not speak well to his ability to recover from injuries and is a concern as you go forward. But the Raptors are giving a tremendous amount of effort on defense and in general and you have to give credit to Dwane Casey for that. It is night and day from the efforts we saw under Jay Triano.
Orlando's Real Magician Is Stan Van Gundy
Orlando's second choice as coach took them to an NBA Finals and lost to the Lakers. While this season under far from ideal circumstances has taken the Magic to a 24-14 record and they sit fifth best in the conference. He dealt with his G.M making stupid trades for guys like Vince Carter, Gilbert Arenas and a much lesser version of the Hedo Turkoglu that left Orlando for big bucks here in Toronto. Stan probably has little say in what ultimately will happen to Dwight Howard by March the 15th. Still he has done the best thing that anyone could do in convincing him to stay and that is win basketball games. Stan Van Gundy has done just that. I can't help but think he feels a bit upset with Howard for wanting to leave. If not with him than with Otis Smith for letting this situation get out of hand. In many ways Van Gundy is the man in the middle. He will also be the man that has to deal with the fallout of this situation no matter what it ends up being.
He also is one of the more entertaining coaches to watch on an NBA Sideline. He never looks completely happy even if his team happens to be up 20 or down 20. Howard in the past has said he wishes that Stan would be more positive with the team. I just think the chances of that happening are about as good as Dwight leading the league in free throw percentage. What Van Gundy has been able to do with a line-up that by Dwight Howard's standards is not good enough is pretty impressive. When Ryan Anderson is your team's top scorer behind Dwight that speaks to Howard's unhappiness and to Van Gundy's ability to coach. It is not meant to demean what Anderson has done at all. He has been one of the few players on this Magic roster, to show improvement and be worth more than what they are paying him.
While this could be the last time you see Dwight Howard in a Magic Jersey at the ACC you will still see Stan Van Gundy when the Magic return to Toronto on March 26th after the trade deadline. It makes you wonder when Stan Van Gundy will have enough and want to go to a better place that respects him for what he is. Which is one of the better coaches in the NBA. Doc Rivers cut his teeth in coaching in Orlando before landing the job in Boston. Van Gundy had his chance at title stolen from him in Miami, he had another chance to get a ring in Orlando with a group with less talent overall. His record overall speaks to how good a coach he is with a record in his 8th season coaching of 358-193 and a playoff record of 47-35. He has never missed the playoffs in a full season that he has coached. That would appear to be the case this season as well regardless of the fate of Dwight Howard.
The Raptors can only hope that Dwane Casey can someday have a record that looks as impressive as the one Van Gundy has in his career. He likely doesn't get the full credit he deserves based on the fact he has always had a star player to carry the load for his teams. However he finds a way to get the most from that and demands a lot of everyone, from the best player on the team, to the last guy on his bench. However the guy that Van Gundy is the most hard on is actually himself. He is one of the more under appreciated coaches in the NBA. Dwight Howard owes Van Gundy a ton of credit for pushing him to do more and be more. It would be very easy for a guy like Dwight to just get by on his obvious gifts and talents. But even in a season in which he has had one foot half out the door, Stan Van Gundy has still got the best out of Dwight Howard. Which is impressive and something the Raptors never could do with Vince Carter.
As for the Raptors chances tonight? They could be a lot better on March 26th after the trade deadline than they will be tonight. Last I checked Dwight Howard will still be showing up in an Orlando Jersey. He is a force that Raptor fans are all to aware of. He had some of his best games in the NBA battling against his friend Chris Bosh, with both having some pretty memorable battles. Now his Magic team face a situation similar to one the Raptors had with Chris Bosh. The Raptors ultimately never traded Bosh and went all in for a push for the playoffs. Bosh would get injured and the playoffs never came. He would exit stage left for Miami. The Magic should make the playoffs no matter what at this point. However, do they do it with Howard and risk watching him walk like Bosh and James did in Toronto and Cleveland? That is a question that Otis Smith needs to have an answer for by March 15th.
1/1/12
New Year But Same Old Problems For Raptors
The Raptors from the start got the jump on a Magic team that clearly looked like they had enjoyed to much fun ringing in 2012. Hedo likes to party as Raptor fans well know. Dwight Howard started the game with a great offensive rebound and slam but seemed to have his interest level drift in this game. Raptors went on a 8-0 run after that and continued to pound on the Magic to the tune of 21-8 at one point in the first. The Raptors lost a little ground with the second unit but still had a healthy lead of 27-18 after one.
In the second the Magic's leading scorer got it going after sitting out most of the first with two fouls. If you think we are talking about Dwight Howard, we are not. Hedo? Come on now? No Ryan Anderson is that guy and he was fantastic matching the solid performance from Andrea Bargnani. In an ironic twist it was Anderson making the 3's with Bargnani driving to the basket getting 2 at a time. Anderson has much the same type of game as Bargnani but not nearly has skilled. But still the Raptors would take a 52-47 lead to the break.
Here is why you should love Dwane Casey if you don't already. If this was a Triano coached Raptors you would expect the Magic to continue to climb back and crush the Raptors early in the 3rd. But the Casey led Raptors were the ones that came out swinging. The Raptors got their double digit lead back and they would hold it to the end of the 3rd with an 11 point lead heading to the 4th.
But no matter who the players are or who the coach happens to be the Raptors have had a history of 4th quarter failure. This not so happy tradition was on full display in Orlando. The Magic as if they finally shook of there "rust" from New Year's Eve came alive in the 4th. Dwight Howard had a massive rejection of Bargnani that you will no doubt see on the highlights of this game. The Raptors offence hit the skids and the lead would evaporate as fast as Canadian snow on a warm Orlando night.
While we gave praise to Calderon and Bargnani. There was blame to go around as well. Demar DeRozan is making some awful shooting choices and despite his 17 points he shot just 4-12 and had 3 shots blocked. Lone positive was 6 boards from Demar. James Johnson provided nothing on offence and was only slightly better on defence from the game with Dallas. Also starting to be a point of worry is Ed Davis who after a solid opener vs Cavs has been on the steady decline. Just two points and only 1 rebound? Hey if we are going to slam Bargnani...Ed Davis hello. Ed Davis has to be a contributor on the glass.
Raptors defence which has been the great story to this point got progressively worse in this game. When it was all done the Magic shot just a shade under 50% easily the best performance by a Raptor opponent this season. Raptors have little time to figure it out as they hop a plane to head to NYC and a Monday meet up with the Knicks. Raptors end up fumbling this one 102-96 to the Magic. Magic outscored the Raptors 32-15 in the final quarter. A all to familiar ending for Raptors fans on a day that is suppose to be about new beginnings.
12/14/11
7 Dayz of NBAZ
This and about 500 other things have happened in the last week or so. Aside from Stern botching the whole Chris Paul situation to the point that Paul is thinking of suing the league in an attempt to get his freedom. I know I joke but this is actually true. He would sue for damages and a court order to allow him to be traded to Lakers or the Clippers. Problem is the season starts in 11 days. By the time a court hears this case it may well be the All-Star Break. That was a joke but to get a ruling from a court during the holidays in under 11 days? I see that as highly unlikely. Here is an idea have David Stern and Chris Paul go on Judge Judy. I mean hell the NBA has been embarrassed a ton already why not go all the way. Who wouldn't enjoy Judge Judy yelling at both Stern and Paul? I know I would.
Cory Joesph has had trouble suiting up for the Spurs. Some legal issues about working in the States. This just seems bizarre seeing as he played for the Longhorns in the same state that he is playing his pro ball. Tristan Thompson did not have the same issues as even the government is fearful of the wrath of Dan Gilbert. Once Joesph is able to play he will have a very familiar face in former Longhorn T.J Ford. This should help Joesph learn the ropes a little faster. It will also cut down on his minutes on the down side. As for Thompson for now he will be coming off the bench behind longtime vet Antwan Jamison. He makes his debut at home against the Raptors on the 26th. Be make his pre-season debut on NBA T.V on Friday vs the Pistons.
Proof not only Raptor trades fail. O.J Mayo for the 2nd time in under a year was off to the Pacers only to see the deal fall apart. This one falling apart had nothing to do with David Stern or Michael Jordan. While one of the big prizes in Free Agency has done the far from normal thing of staying with the team he was with. Nene was never coming to Toronto according to Leandro Barbosa because it was to cold. But it does snow in Denver right? Or has Tim Tebow made it a tropical island? Regardless Nene is staying in the land of Tebow with the Nuggets not the Broncos.
There is no doubt I will be talking about at least some of these things tonight on the Radio 12ish am on CJLO on The Sports Grind.
4/19/11
NBAZ In 7 DayZ - Playoff Edition
The least debated of the post season awards was handed out, and no surprise Dwight Howard wins the Defensive MVP for a 3rd straight year. No one has ever accomplished that feat. But the harder feat for Dwight will be to take his Magic anywhere in the playoffs. The group around him is anything but defensive minded. The Hawks who took game 1 of their opening round series against the Magic. They last season took the worst beating in the history of the NBA Playoffs. That humiliation might have just motivated the Hawks to show up this year. It motivated them to send Mike Woodson packing. He was the coach in Atlanta for 6 years and improved his win total every season. But his team and their lack of performance in the playoffs was the reason he was let go. Stan Van Gundy has to worry about his future if the Magic go out in first round. Not that he will lose his job, but he very well could lose Dwight and that would make his job a lot tougher to keep in the future.
I had told you that the Boston and Knicks series would be closer than people thought. That Amare Stoudamire if he plays big in this series could help the Knicks upset Boston. In Game 1 both of those were true. It was a pretty exciting game and if the Knicks can come up with a similar effort they might just be able to head back to New York tied at 1. Boston just has not been the same since Kendrick Perkins was dealt at the deadline. Despite Jermaine O'Neal being able to turn back the clock in game 1, he is no Kendrick Perkins. Rajon Rondo has not exactly played to his All-Star level of late. Maybe he should watch Russell Westbrook for some inspiration. Boston also might have noticed that the Miami Heat trashed the Sixers last night and that Chris Bosh guy is looking pretty good. But Boston has to get there in the first place to face the Heat and that will not be an easy task.
Speaking of turning back the clock how about Jason Kidd? He was pretty amazing in game one for the Mavs. He hit six shots from beyond the arc and had one of the best playoff performances of his long career. Dirk also got a bit dirty getting in the paint and taking the ball to the hoop. The Blazers on the other hand could say they didn't get the full bang for their buck. Gerald Wallace who I said would be key in the Blazers upsetting the Mavs was not exactly the factor he needs to be in game 1. Also the Blazers have a huge advantage with Lamarcus Aldridge and the need to take advantage of it. Tyson Chandler is a good to great defender in the post. But Aldridge is quicker and can make jumpers from the mid-range. You wish that the old Brandon Roy was still around. But injuries have taken away the brilliance that once was Brandon Roy. I still don't trust the Mavs and will see how they respond once they face some adversity in this series. If they can get out of Dallas up 2-0 that would be well advised. The Rose Garden is one of the better environments in the NBA.
Many have raved about what a great weekend of basketball it was. This is true it was some of the best first round basketball we have seen in the playoffs in quite some time. Both number one seeds were pushed to the brink. The Bulls survived and won a similar type game last night coming out on top in a tight affair. The Spurs were not as lucky going in the history books as the first team to lose a playoff game to the Grizzlies Franchise. I can't help but still feel sad as no matter how good these playoffs can or will be it is not going to change one fact. That fact is that when it all is over and a champion is crowned that might be it for a very long time. The Lockout is looming and it is like a dark cloud that has hung over my head all season. Part of me says just enjoy the moment and not think about it. But that is very hard to do for me seeing as I try to eek out a living covering this sport. But I will try my best. No question the product on court right now has been pretty fantastic.
3/24/11
"NBAz in 7 Dayz"
Many broadcast journalists, including yours truly, will appreciate the legacy left by former SuperSonics owner Barry Ackerley. He died early Monday morning after suffering a stroke at the age of 76 years old. During his 18-year ownership of the Sonics, the team made the playoffs 13 times, won four division titles and was in the 1996 NBA Final. Most broadcasters though, will also appreciate he was one of the first sports owners to broadcast games on both radio and television stations he owned and also created the first all-sports talk radio station. He will be missed.
Top 5 MVP Picks - You might be surprised
I love LeBron James and appreciate his style of play, his charity work and his character despite all "The Decision" hoopla. But he does not make my list. I also support the work and leadership of Kobe Bryant and while I appreciate his All-Star MVP status, he makes my list but is not my choice for regular season MVP. The NBA Most Valuable Player Award is an honour given to the most highly revered player during the regular season. Does this mean the most successful? Does the MVP always win a championship? Is this just a popularity contest like some high school Prom King contests? Regardless of it's reputation, here are my top five players who should at least make the discussion (in no particular order):
1. Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers: Let's face it. Kobe Bryant has been a regular season MVP contender for the last 4 or five seasons. Not that having an injury and playing through it should be an automatic criteria, but I think he should have won it last year based on this alone. I think some value needs to be placed on a player's ability to overcome adversity. But based on his team's roller coaster ride this year and losing twice to the three so-called Kings in Miami, I don't think he will make the cut.
2. Derrick Rose, Chicago Bulls: Although he is not my choice for MVP, he was right up there. Now, I don't believe he is the second coming of MJ himself but he made the Chicago Bulls relevant again. He has gone toe-to-toe this season with the best in the league and has held his own. He has been in the league for 2 years now and is really making a name for himself. He ranks third in field goal attempts, sixth in points per game and is also in the top ten for assists. Not a bad combination - this makes him a well-rounded candidate.
3. Dwight Howard, Orlando Magic: I almost did not include him in my top five based on his "foul" issues but I reconsidered. When you look at his stats, he is ranked in the top two in 16 categories, including number one in blocks, free throws and number two in rebounds. He is a tough player you want on your team going into any battle. He and I did the same thing in grade eight - write down a list of goals. Among Dwight's were: lead his team to a state championship and become the first overall selection in the NBA Draft. I wonder if somewhere on that list was NBA MVP.
4. Ray Allen, Boston Celtics: This was a hard one considering the depth of talent on the Celtics' roster and I endeavored to chose only one candidate per team. He is ranked in the top ten in three categories including number two in three-point field goal percentage. He is not dominating stats categories like Howard but Ray Allen is like the chocolate chip to the Celtics' playoff cookie. Without him, the team is just not the same. He is the consummate clutch player and performs well under pressure. Being in the league for 14 years gives you that experience.
5. My MVP Pick - Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder: Although I never believed the hype about Miami winning a championship based on assembling Wade, James and Bosh in the same city, I think a team's ability to beat this formation is a part of the measuring stick. The Thunder met the Heat twice this season and split the wins. In the game they won, the Thunder beat them by 11 points (96-85). Team success is another part of the MVP race because if said player is both talented and elevates the play of his teammates, his is MVP worthy in my opinion. Kevin Durant is both. He is an all-around great ambassador to the sport. He ranks number one in the NBA for points per game, averaging 27.9 and is really dedicated to the success of his team. He showed an example of this by coaching his teammate Serge Ibaka in the dunk contest (after his own victorious event got cancelled). At 23 years old and after being in the league for only 3 years, his time is now.
Thanks for joining me this week. I appreciate all your questions, comments and suggestions. Please keep them coming by following me on Facebook (Danielle de Graauw) and Twitter (@ddegraauw). Over the weekend, think about your Rookie of the Year choices and bring those to the table next Thursday. Until then, have a great weekend and see you on Tuesday for more NBA coverage in "NBAz in 7 Dayz".
3/8/11
"NBAz in 7 Dayz"
See Dave? It's Science.
What were you doing one year ago today? Well, the Los Angeles Lakers were winning five of their first 10 games after the All-Star break, lost six of their final nine and hung on by a thread to make the playoffs. The Boston Celtics pulled the same prank on us wining as many games as they lost with a 27-27 record after Christmas. But who was in the NBA Final? Boston and Los Angeles.
So this year, no one need be fooled. Sure, the San Antonio Spurs have the best record in the NBA right now (51-12). But as of Tuesday morning, the Los Angeles Lakers are the only team without a loss since the All-Star break. Their win on Monday came after beating San Antonio 99-83. So the Lakers are showing they have not faded into the sunset and are ready to defend their title. Having said this, the remainder of the season won't be easy. Take a look at their upcoming road trip: Atlanta on Tuesday, Miami on Thursday and Dallas on Saturday. No walk in the park that's for sure. When they return home, they start a stretch of 7 home games beginning with the new and improved Orlando Magic. They have a long way to go to make the final dance but at least they are looking ready to face the music.
Van Gundy stands by his man
The NBA has awarded the first league suspension for excessive technical fouls. Pause for a second to think about this (if you don't know already) and say who first comes to mind. If you said Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic, you would be right. If you said his Coach would subsequently read him the riot act, you would be wrong. Orlando Magic Head Coach Stan Van Gundy says he thinks his star center has shown restraint this season and believes his sense of control has been "amazing". Amazing or not, Dwight Howard is a candidate for MVP honours this season and a league first suspension for excessive technical fouls does not look good on a resume. Howard served his one-game suspension by sitting out Orlando's 89-85 loss to Portland Monday night. This comes after his 16th technical foul of the season against Chicago last Friday. Now, for every two technical fouls he receives for the remainder of the season, he will receive a one game suspension. Coach Van Gundy claims (according to a Elias Sports Bureau statistic) Howard has been fouled 593 times this season without any of those calls being labeled flagrant. There's an old saying I learned at a very young age, "You can't control want happens to you but you can control how you react". If the stat Coach Van Gundy is quoting is true, that would make any player upset. But does that give you a license to argue, get in the referee's face and impede the ability of your team to advance in the game at hand? No. I realize there is an inherent inconsistency in the way any infractions are called in the NBA and in any sport for that matter since you don't have the same referee calling each game. But they are all playing by the same rules which govern the league and for the most part, are on the same page. Dwight Howard is not a bad guy and is a talented player. If he has shown restraint as Van Gundy claims, that's great. It just wasn't enough against Chicago and won't be for the rest of the season if this keeps up. Good call or bad call, he is the one who opened his mouth.
Chris Paul taken off on a stretcher
In the Hornet's game against Cleveland Sunday night, Chris Paul left the floor on a stretcher after hitting his forehead on the shoulder of Cleveland guard Ramon Sessions. He was fully conscious the whole time and never lost feeling anywhere according to Hornets management. He was taken to the Cleveland Clinic for precautionary tests and later rejoined the team at the arena, leaving with them on their charter flight to Chicago. He missed Monday's 77-85 loss to Chicago and no word yet on his return. He was diagnosed with a concussion and this is where I become concerned. I realize everyone has varying recovery schedules when it comes to concussions but there needs to be a league standard and strict requirements need to be met before any player is allowed to return. It is very disconcerting to me to watch players let their mouth guards dangle out of their mouths, let alone chew on them during a stoppage in play as if it is an expendable item. This piece of equipment aids in reducing the severity of injuries but does not prevent them. What does not reduce the severity of concussions is returning to the game before you are ready. Once you have been concussed, you are susceptible to more concussions and the level of severity can increase. Right now, there is no clear cut standard across the NBA and some players are able to just walk back on the court with no real hoops to jump through, if you will. This is a real problem in my opinion and if the league is serious about preventing these types of injuries, they need to set standards now before we see players forced to leave the game for good.
Thank you for joining me today. As always, I welcome your comments and suggestions. Please keep them coming by following me on Twitter (@ddegraauw) and on Facebook (Danielle de Graauw). See you on Thursday for more NBA coverage and a look toward the playoffs in "NBAz in 7 Dayz".
1/21/11
Raptors Need A Magic Trick
The Basics: Raptors 13-29 (5-17 on Road) Magic 27-15 (18-7 vs East)
When Last We Saw Them: The Raptors had a surprising showing in the first half and were not able to carry it through to the 2nd half. Andrea Bargnani struggled the entire night and never could find a rhythm on offence. His defence was non-existent. Demar DeRozan had a great scoring first half but failed to carry it through to the 2nd half. In the end the Spurs showed why they have the best record in the league and had a great 3rd quarter and hung on for the win.
Key Match Ups: If you are playing the Orlando Magic on both ends of the floor you need to account for Dwight Howard. He is a shot blocking presence on D. While on offence a summer of working with "The Dream" has done is game a world of good. Jameer Nelson starting gaining respect by out playing both Jose Calderon and T.J Ford in the last playoff series the Raptors were a part of. Since that time people still question if Nelson is the right guy for Magic to win a title. But he has the full support of Stan Van Gundy and remains the starting point guard. Raptors will have lots of 3 point shooters to deal with and will need to be aware of that. They may not be able to wide in a zone defence much tonight if the Magic start dropping 3's.
Other Things Of Note: Congratulations to The Basketball Jones on the 5th Anniversary. They are having a party/show tonight and I am going to be in attendance so the re-cap of this game will be included in the preview of tomorrow's game with Miami. Ryan will be taking care of that for you all tomorrow. So congrats to Skeets,Tas, Matty O and J.D and good luck to the Raptors tonight they will need it. Someone pointed out this is the 5th anniversary of something else. 5 Years ago it was Kobe Bryant in L.A dropping 81 points on the Raptors. I am confident is saying no one on the Magic will drop 81 on the Raps tonight.
Where Is It On? TSN (Really is the NHL on All Star Break already? )
1/6/10
Oh No!!! Orlando
Orlando has had little trouble dusting off the Raptors 3 times this season, the first two in Toronto with not a full roster. They have at times punished the Raptors from beyond the 3 point line. Raptors have not been the 3 point shooting crazy team as in the past. They still have shooters but not to the level that Orlando does. Raptors still have ability to make the 3 ball but a number of the people they count on to make that shot have not been hitting it. Jose Calderon and his return should help in that to some degree.
He will likely be playing limited minutes in a reserve roll for the first little while. Jack remains the starter and the point guard debate will simmer till Calderon is deemed back to game shape. The wild card in this debate will be Chris Bosh. Not saying he will decide it. However it is dumb to think he does not have an opinion on this. Also dumb would be think that it does not play a factor. But for those that think Calderon needs to be traded that makes little sense as well. Marcus Banks may be playing over expectations. However the bar of those expectations was set low, it seems to build up what he has done to a level higher than it probably is. Banks has been good for the most part and most of that on the defensive end. Offense for me has been hit or miss. However for my money I am not ready to see Marcus Banks as the full time back-up to Jack, Jose can be good regardless of his role. Unless you don't buy into the fact he is a great team guy as many over the years have said. I have no reason to believe that and think Jose and Jack for that matter will except whatever choice Jay Triano eventually makes.
It is hard to imagine the Raptors will some how find the answer to solve the Magic. They just have not really been close to doing that this season. If the Raptors are to have any chance they need to get D-12 in foul trouble. That at least will help to some degree. Dwight is almost as big a factor on defense as he is on the O. In fact against the Raptors he may be more important on D. We all remember that playoff series where Dwight was blocking everything that moved. The Raptors get easily persuaded to becoming a jump shooting team when you have D-12 prowling around the basket.
The Raptors did shake a monkey off their back though with that win over the Spurs. They had not beat a quote "Elite Team" since knocking off Cleveland on opening night. They are rested and will get the boost (Most likely) of a Calderon return. It is a chance to get to .500 again. That is the major hump to cross for the Raptors to get away from the bottom feeders in the East. However I will not hold my breath waiting to exhale for a win tonight. If these teams hook up again in the playoffs it is hard to imagine the Raptors coming out on top. The Magic beating the Raptors in their last playoff match-up was the start of the Magic rise to being one of the elite teams in the East and they should be for years to come.
11/1/09
All Aboard The Raptor Coaster Again
The cover boy of that same video game is Dwight Howard. He is good friends with Chris Bosh that dates back to Bosh's one year at Georgia Tech. A high school star in Atlanta area Dwight use to hang out at Georgia Tech around the team. A pity for the Yellow Jackets that Dwight went straight from high school to the pros. Something that you can not do these days. The two have had some classic battles in one game both Bosh and Howard had career highs in a Raptor victory. Howard has lost to Bosh more than he has won in his NBA career. However in the lone playoff series between the two it was all Dwight and the Magic winning in just 5 games. Both did win a gold medal together and they likely will always be tied together for their entire career. Dwight last year made it all the way to the NBA finals playing alongside Hedo Turkoglu who now plays with Bosh as we all know.
Maybe this is the spark Hedo needs to get on track. Thus far Hedo has been for a lot of folks at least early a disappointment. Perhaps playing the team that did not feel he was worthy of big money will motivate him. Otis Smith his former G.M said that Portland should feel fortunate that Hedo left them standing at the alter. Given what we have soon early from Hedo perhaps Otis had a point. Time will tell but I was never a huge fan of the idea of a 5 year 53 million dollar deal. However my concerns were more about the tail end of the contract not the start. Now I am just generally concerned as Hedo has yet to fully look like the guy that was huge for the Magic in a run to the NBA finals.
I would love to tell you I know is what is going to happen today. But the truth is when it comes to the Raptors as it has been for 15 years we all have just been guessing. We all do our best to make "educated" guesses but with this Raptor team as they have proved so many times and in their first two game... you truly never know what is going to happen. That is maybe what makes Raptor fans some of the most crazy yet loyal fans in the NBA and all of sports. The Raptors are a team that at many points in the 15 years they have now played in the NBA you never really know what you are going to get. Forrest Gump would have loved to be a Raptor fan because they truly are the NBA equivalent of that box of chocolates.
8/7/09
Doom and Gloom On Friday
Rashard Lewis Statement(From Magic.com):
“First and foremost I take full responsibility for the situation and accept the corresponding penalty.Toward the end of the season I took an over-the-counter supplement which at the time I did not realize included a substance banned by the NBA. I apologize to Magic fans, my teammates and this organization for not doing the research that should come with good judgment. I hope this unintentional mistake will not reflect poorly on our team and its great character. I hope every athlete can learn from my mistake that supplements, no matter how innocent they seem, should only be taken after consulting an expert in the field.”
I am not here to tell you what to think. However, in all sports have we not heard a similar story to this before? Justin Walsh made some valid points on why steroids may not make sense for basketball players. However for the average casual fan of the sport will this not just lump basketball in with baseball and football? It has been a summer of steroids in baseball, Manny, A-Rod and most recently David Ortiz. This also has been an issue that has been addressed by the U.S Government. The 10 game suspension is light in comparison to the 50 game ban that baseball issues. 30.8% of the season missed for Manny and just 12.1% for Lewis.
If you had told me to pick someone who was going to get nailed for performance enhancing drugs or steroids don't think Rashard Lewis would have been in my top 50. The problem in this is not that someone got caught cheating. It is the shadow that is casts on the game as a whole. It is about the guys who are clean that get lumped in. Dwight Howard, Lebron James and others now may have to deal with the issue. If they are clean athletes and not cheating that takes away from their greatness. The fact I used the word "if" just shows you the difference. I have always wanted to believe for the most part basketball is a clean sport. That might be being naive in the world we live. If this turns out to be a one off event it may not matter. However it opens the door to things going down a very wrong path.
More gloomy news for a Friday. We also talked about Labor unrest last night on DNB Radio. David Stern is taking a hard line with things for the next CBA. He is said to want a 50/50 revenue split with the players. That number now is at 57% for the players. But he also wants to tighten up the cap. No more mid-level exception, a dollar for dollar tax for those that go over the tax threshold. It is a dark and gloomy forecast that could mean a lockout is coming. This is why it might play into hands of Cleveland, Miami and Toronto to keep their stars. Players like James, Bosh and Wade would be well advised to get as much as they can for as long as they can. That plays to the advantage of the teams they are currently with. That may go away in the new CBA as well the concept of "Bird Rights" could be gone. It is going to be interesting how the NBA (David Stern) is going to get what they want financially but still have player stability. It just might not be possible. Still love him or hate him if anyone can pull it off it is David Stern. You do not keep your job for as long as he has without being highly successful at it.
While the mood around the Raptors has been sunshine and lollipops the times ahead for the NBA could be dark indeed. So take some advice and enjoy the good times. You really can never be certain what lies ahead. Twitter can get hacked and you suddenly wonder how you lived life without it.
Back on the radio tonight in the traditional sense, for my weekly appearance on the Off The Bench on CJLO. Should be on at my regular time 12:15am. Thanks to all that checked out DNB Radio last night. I got positive response on Twitter from the show. Thanks to Justin Walsh and the folks that called into the show. We will do it all again next week at 11pm next Thursday. I hope folks enjoy it and get behind the show and help make it as successful as the Dino Nation Blog has been. Have a great weekend folks.
3/3/09
Raptors Face A Large Challenge In Houston
Raptors Have No Answer For Yao?
We will see if the Raptors learned anything from that loss to the Suns. Yao Ming is a different kind of big man from Shaq but he would be just as big a problem Andrea Bargnani will likely draw the task of guarding him. Bargnani has been doing a better job this season blocking shots and challenging shots. It is a little different when the player is the size of Yao though. Rafer Alston gone, Tracy McGrady out for the year, these are not your older brother's Houston Rockets.
That being said they should be able to handle the Raptors. The do have Ron Artest and that as long been a player that I would love to see come north of the border. It may be nuts and grasping at straws but Ron Artest is a guy that has defensive pride and it is something the Raptors are in major need of. The Raptors need some kind of craziness. It would shake things up a bit. The whole everyone is a nice good guy plan has not worked. Sometimes a little conflict and drama is not the worst thing in the world. Even Steve Nash thing the Raptors need to get tougher. He said that in an interview with Canada Press. He also said that if things didn't work with the Suns the Raptors would be at the top of his list. But if Nash who is likely one of the nicest good guys in the league things you need to get tougher that would tell you something. Ron Artest is tough and could be a guy that would give the Raptors a defensive leader. Ron Artest a leader? Yeah ok maybe it is nuts. But in a season like this you are driven to think outside of the box for answers.
As for the answers for tonight? Run and Hustle. Yao is never going to win a 100 meter dash. The Raptors new found running style might actually be some what successful against the Rockets. The challenge has been the Raptors have been running out of energy. That has lead to a lack of hustle and desire down the stretch of games. Sam Mitchell and about 100 other basketball folks always say this next statement. Everyone says they want to run and play up tempo basketball but it is a whole different thing to actually do it. Running is a mindset and it takes an attitude and conditioning level. The fact the Raptors have tried to take on this new direction without a training camp makes it a pretty challenging task. However it has been a season that has had one excuse after another and Raptor Fans are tired of hearing them. This will be the most interesting and important off season perhaps in the history of this franchise. For that there will be no excuses that will be acceptable. Fans will demand more and expect results. They will also expect to be able to watch their team play games by turning on a Television. Those on going talks with Rogers and TSN are so close that they might just end before the Obama first term in office, or maybe the second in honour of TSN 2. It should be made perfectly clear the RAPTOR FANS HAVE HAD ENOUGH WITH ALL OF THIS AND THE TIME FOR EXCUSES IS OVER. This is not the Leaf Nation here it is not like we will sit back and accept things as is. At least let's hope not or we are all screwed. I like to think and hope that the Raptor Fan base is different. However chucking the star player under the bus and an apathetic response to the TSN 2 mess is not making me hopeful. There is one thing I will say for Leaf Nation if they were insulted like this with the TSN 2 mess they would riot in the streets. However no need to worry about that ever happening and if you want proof just turn on you television tomorrow for hours on end of exciting Hockey Trade deadline action. But if you do Raptors fans make a statement and don't turn on the networks that have screwed you over. I think we all know who they are right?
2/15/09
All Star Saturday Not Exactly Dazzling.
So, down goes Kapono, down goes Kapono. Not exactly inspiring. let's rewind to way back before the All Saturday night got going. Outside in the parking lot we saw the first edition of GEICO which you may know as HORSE. Even this was not exactly thrilling. A shot from the stands that were part of the set they created for this was probably the highlight. Kevin Durant who have a record in the rookie and sophomore game of 46 points, he would ride that momentum to be your first Geico champion. Hopeful they improve this event and bring it back but it failed to meet the high expectations it had. That would be a theme for the night ahead.
I guess I will mention the Detroit team who that shooting stars thing. You know that waste of time that I think is designed to promote the WNBA but in reality makes me yawn. The contest takes a current NBA Star, A WNBA star and A NBA Legend and they make shots from various spots on the floor. This event to me does nothing for the NBA Players in it. Does even less for WNBA players and makes legends look old and that can be embarrassing. This event is an embarrassment and it needs to go. If anyone likes this thing and wants to defend it with a comment be my guest. However I think I am in the majority on this one.
Derrick Rose won the weird little obstacle course race they have that they call Skills Challenge. He would throw down a dunk at the end that would be better than what we saw from the eventual winner. Throwing balls through tires and dribbling around obstacles is just not doing it for me. I have never really got this event. It attracts a quality field for it but the competition lacks the sizzle that the entry list would suggest.
Now on to the main event of the evening and this was almost WWE like in nature. I don't mean that is a good way. We had almost a pre-determined final. Could Rudy Fernandez and J.R Smith have done anything to get in the final? based on all the staged events would see after that I would say not likely. Dwight Howard's return of Superman was much like a Superman sequel. It was ok and the whole phone booth thing was a nice touch. He also had a net that could be raised up and he would dunk on the higher basket which was far more impressive than it looked. The winner would be Nate Robinson who would bust out green gear and play up the whole superman gimmick. He would even do a dunk in which he leaped over Howard. But Howard did kinda duck a little. That was about the only dunk he did that impressed me. Nate Robinson gets inflated love for what he does based on his size and size alone. Dwight Howard's catch dunk off the side of the backboard was best of a night of lackluster stuff. It all was like a WWE event right up to the clearly staged moment in which prior to the final dunks Lebron James in the crowd was interviewed.
So, Lebron will you be in the slam dunk contest next year? When he answered Yes that he would, as he put it conditionally put his name in the Dunk contest for next year, it automatically made the end of the dunk contest and after thought. I have said it many times nobody does All Star Weekend better than the NBA. However this year to this point All Star Weekend has been like a forgettable WrestleMania. Like say Wrestlemania 9. Point is this will not be an All Star Weekend that will make the history books to this point.
We still have the Game today but so far thumbs way down from the Dino Blogger.
1/23/09
Change...When Will It Come To The Raptors?
A New Candidate For Raptors Coaching Job?
You may have missed this with all the all the trade rumour talk. But the Memphis Grizzlies said good bye to their head coach Mark Iavaroni yesterday.If you remember there was a lot of talk that Bryan Colangelo was very interested in bringing in Iavaroni to replace Sam Mitchell. However Mitchell would go on to win coach of the year and re-sign in Toronto. Colangelo may still consider him a candidate if he looks to hire a coach in the off-season. Given the lack of success it is hard to think he will not be. However there is a lot of candidates out there to choose from for Colangelo. But it should be noted that Iavaroni was of course an assistant with the Suns and Colangelo knows him very well. Colangelo has stated, he has no plans to address the coaching situation till the off-season. Given all the change that has gone on with this team and how they have responded to that it seems unlike a move will be made till then. But it is worth noting that another candidate could be on the list. If Iavaroni can not find a head coaching job you would think the New York Knicks would be interested in having him as an assistant under Mike D'Antoni.
All Star Starters Announced
Western Conference
Tim Duncan
Amare Stoudemire
Yao Ming
Kobe Bryant
Chris Paul
Kevin Garnett
LeBron James
Dwight Howard
Allen Iverson
Dwyane Wade
Dwight Howard was the player that got the most votes from fans. He was the only player to top 3 million in votes with a total of 3,150,181 votes. Other things of note Chris Paul was able to get in as a late push got him past Tracy McGrady to get in the starting line-up for the West. If T-Mac got in over Paul it would have been a joke. But not as big a joke as if Yi Jian Lian got in over Lebron James or Kevin Garnett. He did beat Raptors Chris Bosh by over 700,000 votes and Paul Pierce by just under 600,000 votes. It is just sad and it is a problem. I also question if Allen Iverson is an all-star as well. But it is what it is. It will be interesting to see if Chris Bosh is added to the roster when the reserves are announced. If it were up to one of the ex-coaches, that gets a lot of talk about being someone fans would like to see in Toronto, he would not be going. Jeff Van Gundy has went on the record and said that he thinks no player on a below .500 team deserves to be on the All-Star team. It may be tough to get a team for the East under that Van Gundy system.
Does it Stop At 7?
I am hopeful it will but not that optimistic. Derrick Rose going against a Jose Calderon that admits he is not fully confident in his hamstring mentally. Rose should be able to take advantage. Not to mention the mood around this team that is obviously waiting to see Jermaine O'Neal be shown the door. It just all says to me that the Raptors will not win. If they do not win the next game after that I will seriously question if I should keep writing game re-caps the rest of the year. That game is against the Sacremento Kings and they may be one of a short list of teams that are in worse shape. But as for tonight, I give the Bulls the edge in this game. I don't want to do it but it just seems very unlikely the Raptors can pull together to get a win. That being said whenever I think the Raptors will lay an egg they usually come out and surprise me over the years. Let's hope that is the case with this one. Why? BECAUSE LOSING SUCKS!!!
1/4/09
Raptors Rewind- Superman In The House Edition
The Raptors face a Magic team as I said in the set-up to this game is on a roll. I was impressed by the Magic heading into this season. I think people in Raptorland under estimated this team last season and did not give them credit for being a good basketball team. I personally learned my lesson and was one of the few that were giving the Magic some much deserved love in the pre-season leading into this 08/09 season. I called for Stan Van Gundy to win coach of the year and Dwight Howard to be M.V.P. The Magic had a very slow start to the season and it was looking like I was nuts. But look at them now winners of 9 of their last 10 basketball games. In the Eastern Conference all the talk is about the Cavs and Celtics and on a national stage the Magic are being over looked just like they were locally here in Toronto last year. Don't sleep on the Orlando Magic because they have talent and are a solid basketball team built around an amazing talent in Dwight Howard. Chris Bosh no doubt feels happy for his friend and his success. However given the state of things in Toronto he must be more disappointed with his situation. He will have to carry the load today with no Jermaine O'Neal and Jose Calderon. Bosh in his career has had 7 career 40 points or more games and 3 of them have been against the Magic. If Bosh is going to get any help it will have to come from Andrea Bargnani. He has done well in replacing O'Neal in the starting line-up. Despite the fact that some including me have thought he may just not be in the long term future for the Raptors he has played some of his best basketball of the season in these last few games. The Raptors will need that to continue to have any chance at success. They will also need Will Solomon to play at a high level and not fall apart as he did earlier in the year against Orlando. The odds are long for the Raptors today to get a win. That is the reality of things but if they did manage to win it would be impressive to say the least. The Magic road record is impressive to say the least. So let's see what happens and if Raptors can find a way to ground Superman. But even if they can Magic have many options from 3 point range to many to mention.1st Quarter
Magic win the opening tap and Rashard Lewis misses a 3 pointer but Dwight Howard gets the offensive rebound and put back score. Andrea Bargnani would miss but follow his shot and score off the rebound. Bargnani would nail a 3 pointer in response to a Magic score. But quickly back the other way Dwight Howard would get a dunk. Chris Bosh would look to get in on the party making his first jumper of the day. Jameer Nelson would miss an attempt and Anthony Parker back in the starting line-up would make his first attempt of the day. Dwight Howard would get fouled but score anyway and make the free throw. The score was tied at 9. Will Solomon would drive at Howard and score and draw the second foul on Howard. So the Raptors had a 12-9 lead but more importantly Howard was taking an early seat after a hot start.
Rashard Lewis would score from long range and the game was back to even at 12-12. Anthony Parker would dunk it home on a feed from Bosh and the Raptors looked solid early with a 14-12 lead and Howard a spectator. Magic had made a few uncharacteristic turnovers early on. This latest one the Raptors could not cash is on it as Bargnani missed a 3 pointer. Hedo Turkoglu would make a 3 pointer and the Magic were in front 15-14. Jameer Nelso would get fouled and head to the line looking to extend the lead with he would making both. Anthony Parker was off to a nice start as he drove to the basket and scored in response. Will Solomon on the next trip would stop and pop for 2 points and he would do the same the next time down the floor and the Raptors were taking advantage of Magic miscues and lead 20-17. Chris Bosh would take it at Rashard Lewis and draw the foul on him and make a pair from the line. Raptors lead 22-17 and looked good. Maybe they were better than I thought against the Rockets. The Rockets were bad no doubt but it seems the Raptors were just as good based on this early performance. Bosh was back at the line adding to the lead. Jamario Moon would make a very tough jumper and the Raptors lead had grown to 26-17. This was not what I was expecting to see but am happy to be seeing it. Still this was being done with Dwight Howard looking on.
Chris Bosh continued the Raptor run with another basket and the Raptor lead was 28-17. Tony Battie would finally end the run with a basket for the Magic.But the Raptors kept rolling as AP would score a 2 point shot. Roko Ukic who had checked in for Solomon did the same as he did with back to back baskets. The Raptor lead had grown to 15 points. Kieth Bogans would hit a 3 pointer to draw the Magic slightly closer. Shockingly you score after one quarter of play it was the Raptors leading 34-22.
2nd Quarter
Jake Voskhul, Joey Graham and Jason Kapono had checked in to start the 2nd quarter. Dwight Howard was back in the game for the Magic as well and he would get to know Jake Voskhul right awat as he would get fouled. Howard would go 1-2 from the line for the first point of the quarter. Rashard Lewis would hit a 3-ball and the Magic had started the quarter on a bit of a roll. But Roko Ukic would find Bargnani for a dunk of a Magic turnover in transition. Bargnani would hit another basket with a mid-range jumper to restore the Raptor 12 point lead. Roko Ukic would drive and score and the Raptors were putting the boots to the Magic much like they had Houston. Can some one tell me what is going on here because I am at a loss. The Raptors were playing good to great defense and creating turnovers. It was hard to believe what you were watching to be honest.
Joey Graham was being aggressive on defense and he got rewarded with a basket on offense. Graham was not done as he would answer a Howard bucket with a mid range jumper. Courtney Lee would get a 3 pointer for the Magic and they badly needed it. Raptors had a 44-31 lead. Jake Voskhul would once again lay the wood on Superman and send him to the line. Howard would have a rare 2-2 effort from the line. Will Solomon was back in game and he scored. Soloic? doesn't sound like Forderon but it was sure looking like it today. Bosh was back on the floor now as well. Dwight Howard had a dunk and he had 16 points despite being limited in minutes by fouls. Howard was getting his but the rest of the Magic looked flat and not bringing much to the party.
Dwight Howard continued to score with ease and pulled the Magic back to 9 down. Andrea Bargnani would answer on the other end with a basket. Magic were struggling from beyond the arc that was made evident as Hedo Turkoglu miss a wide open 3 pointer. Andrea Bargnani would get fouled and was at the line and made a pair. He had 13 points and was playing well again. Jameer Nelson would answer with a jump shot for the Magic and cut it to single digits again. Nelso would later hit a 3 ball and the once 15 point Raptor lead had been cut to just 6 with score 50-44. Triano had seen enough to call a time-out and try and get this team back on track. It had been a tremedous first half effort and it was going down the tubes late in the half. Out of the time out the Raptors went to Bosh who had been silent since early. Bosh would be mugged but no foul call. Instead the ball would go out of bounds and the Raptors with a short shot clock could not score. Hedo Turkoglu would score answered by Anthony Parker. However Jameer Nelson was heating up and he made antother 3 pointer and that was the lead 3. Chris Bosh would get a call the next time up the floor and cash in 2-2 form the line and Raptors lead 54-49. Will Solomon was able to score on a jumper thanks to some hustle as the Raptors got a second chance to score after an A.P missed runner in the lane. Magic missed a couple long range bombs and the Raptors had a chance to build the lead back to 9 points. However Bosh would miss a fading jumper. Still the Raptors were hanging on and had a 56-49 lead at the half.
Bryan Colangelo was talking at halftime. He was in full spin mode it would seem. He was asked if he would ever consider trading Chris Bosh but he said No to that suggestion. Colangelo down played all the trade rumours that were out there. He talked about the difficulties in making a trade. He also taked about the idea of Carlos Delfino and he suggested that he would be interested in having him back but suggested that would likely happen next year as opposed to this year. He continued to defend Andrea Bargnani and talked about him still being young and learning. When he was asked if the only players he would not move at this point were Calderon and Bosh he did a masterful job of ducking the question. But based on his comments on Bargnani it seems he is still not ready to give up on him. He did say the now standard line that he is always looking to improve the team and do what he can to make it better. Colangelo is a very smart guy in talking with the media and he never truly makes any mistakes.
Jack Armstrong followed up on the comments of Colangelo and talked about how Carlos Delfino would be a nice fit for this team and could play some time at the point guard position for the Raptors and add some needed grit. He also talked about how Andrea as he sees it will be a 5 in this league going forward. He said you can see him responding to more minutes and oppurtunity. I can not argue the point as Bargnani has been putting in consistent performances the last few games playing at the 5. But the question will be what happens when O'Neal returns and how will that be handled. I mentioned a few days ago it could end up being a very trick and toxic situation if not handled correctly. So that was a more interesting halftime than you average one. But it was on to the second half and see if the Raptors could continue to shock with a great perfomance against the Magic.
3rd Quarter
It was a good start as the Raptors went right to Bosh and he had a two handed throw down. The Magic on their first possesion would turn it over. In fact they would have back to back turnovers to start the 3rd quarter to the dismay of both Dwight Howard and Stan Van Gundy. Bosh meanwhile had scored the first 4 points of the quarter as he made a jump shot. Dwight Howard would score in response but quickly after that picked up his 3rd foul of the afternoon. Raptor led 60-51 early in the 3rd. Jameer Nelson who was a factor late in the first half, found his way to the line and made a pair from the line. Anthony Parker would come back with a score for the home side. Rashard Lewis would answer that with a 3 pointer and Raptors lead had been cut to just 6 points. Anthony Parker would respond with a jumper and he was 7-8 from the field on the day. In a season that he has struggled he was having one of his best performances of it on this day. He had 14 points and the Raptors lead was 64-56.
Magic made another turnover as a pass went sailing out of bounds. The Raptors could not turn that mistake into points on the other end. Rashard Lewis just keeps shooting and he made his 4th shoot from beyond the arc on the afternoon. Anthony Parker would answer that with a Parker dunk. Stan Van Gundy had seen enough of parker scoring and took Bogans who was gaurding him out of the game. Andrea Bargnani though would hit a 3 pointer and he would score diving to the basket for another 2 points. The Raptors continued to lead 71-61. Magic would make there way to the line to 4 made free throws and the lead was cut back to 6 points. Chris Bosh would get a score in response on a feed from Andrea. But Jameer Nelson had a 3 point answer for that and Raptors were fighting hard to stay in front. Anthony Parker would get another basket to push the lead back to 7 point where in began to start the quarter. Dwight Howard would score to make it 75- 70 for the Raptors. Rashard Lewis would follow up with 3 pointer number 5 for him on the day and the Raptor lead was down to just 2 points. Jay Triano would call a time out and try to get things back on track. Orlando was using the 3 point shot to stay in this game. Nelson and Lewis were the key contributors to the 11 made 3 pointers for Orlando.
Jake Voskhul had checked in and missed a jump shot badly. But the next time the Raptors would be able to hook up Parker for another dunk via the Ukic pass. Courtney Lee would answer that with another 3 pointer for the Magic. A steal and a dunk by Dwight Howard and Orlando had their first lead since 17-16 in the first quarter. So after a really solid effort from the Raptors they would find themselves down 1 point after 3 quarters. It almost did not seem fair as the Raptors had really earned a better fate to this point. The problem was the perimeter defense that had been the same issue that saw the Magic bounce Toronto from the playoffs in April.
4th Quarter
Chris Bosh would start the 4th quarter on the bench hoping to be able to lead the charge down the stretch to an unexpected win. Both teams would fail to score on their opening efforts of the quarter. It would take over two minutes in the quarter to get a score but it would be a thunderous Dwight Howard dunk that would break open the score sheet. Raptors would get to the line and make a pair of free throws. Howard would drive and score and draw a foul on Andrea Bargnani. Howard had 33 in the game and that was a season high. Jamario Moon would make a 3 pointer and J.J Redick would answer with a 3-ball of his own. Jason Kapono would make a basket and be fouled by J.J and have a chance to cut the Magic lead back to 1 after a time out on the floor.
Raptor point guards had combined for 17 points and 8 assists with just 2 turnovers. Kapono meanwhile would make his free throw and it was 86-85 Orlando. Chris Bosh was waiting to check in but before he could he would see Jason Kapono make a shot and give his team the lead. Andrea Bargnani had picked up 3 fouls in the quarter and had 4 in the game that was a concern. Reddick the former Duke star would score and Oklahoma State Cowboy alum Joey G would respond and it was Raptor leading 89-88. Dwight Howard who didn't go to college was at the line and could only make 1-2 and we were tied at 89. The Raptors would respond by Roko Ukic getting to the line and he would make both of his and the Raptors lead 91-89 with 6:48 to play. J.J Redick made a big 3 pointer to put the Magic back into the lead. Anthony Parker normally takes a lot of 3's but today he was a dunking machine as he had another exposing Redick on the defensive end. Raptors would have lead 93-92 with 5:57 left in regulation time.
Some more key free throws for Rashard Lewis that he would make to put Orlando back on top. That foul was not on Bargnani but the next time down the floor after a Raptor miss it would be. Howard would make both frome the line and he had 36 points and Andrea had 5 fouls and Jay Triano would take Bargnani out of the game. Anthony Parker would make a 3 pointer and tie the score at 95. The Superman show would continue on the other end as he would score again. Roko Ukic would make his way to the line again in response and make a few more key free throws and we were tied at 97. Dwight Howard would get back to the line and he would go 1-2. Joey Graham would miss a runner in the lane. The Magic would not be able to make the Raptors pay. Anthony Parker scored again to give the Raptors the lead he had 26 points. Rashard Lewis would answer with a 3 point bomb and the Magic were back on top 101-99 with 2:59 to go. This was a heck of an entertaining basketball game for one that a lot of folks would have though could have been a Magic blowout victory. It was anything but that though as the Raptors were fighting hard for a win.
Chris Bosh had got himself to the line with a chance to tie the score. He would make the first and the second and we were even again at 101-101. Antrhony Parker getting it done on defense as well with a steal. It would lead to a Bosh drive and what was thought to be a score. But instead it would be a fould and no basket. Bosh would make both clutch free throws and the Raptors lead 103-101 with just over 2 minutes to play. Howard would head to the line foulded by Bosh which would be his 4th. Howard could only go 1-2 again. He would be really scary if he could ever figure out how to make free throws. He had 39 points despite missing 7 free throws on the day. Roko Ukic was remaining in this game down the stretch and playing well. Parker would have a rare miss and the Magic would have a chance to take the lead. The Raptors forced the Magic to burn a time out with a trap on Hedo in the corner and 4 seconds left on the shot clock and 1:25 in the 4th. Rashard Lewis was forced into a turnover and the Raptors had another chance to extend the lead but could not. But the Magic again failed to take the lead. Roko Ukic would not allow the Raptors to miss 3 times as he would hit the biggest shot of his young NBA career. Raptors had a 105-102 lead with 38.1 seconds to play. J.J Redick would take and miss a 3 pointer and Chris Bosh would grab the rebound and be fouled and sent to the line. He would make the first that would make it a 2 possesion game. He would make the second as well. Moon would block a desprate 3-ball attempt from Turkoglu. Bosh would grab it again and be sent to the line where he would split a pair. Raptors had a 108-102 lead. There was only 9.2 seconds left and this would be a huge win for the Raptors to have heading to Milwaukee. Rashard Lewis would throw up one more 3-ball that would not fall. The Raptors win and shock their fans and the Magic. I really can not believe the effort of this basketball team playing without two of it's stars. You have to look at this boxscore to believe that this took place because it was that amazing.
Raps/Magic Boxscore
The Raptors have a remarkable homestand in which they win 2 of 3 against Houston and now Orlando. I have to say I am pretty shocked by all of this. After I go pinch myself to make sure I am awake I will have more to say about this in the blog tomorrow. But I like you am a happy camper and will just close by saying this was a great effort and a team win and I am going to enjoy it as should you.
